Let’s say I’m on a WinXP box and I connect to a Win2K or Win2003 server by selecting Start / Run and typing \\servername\share. I then authenticate by entering my username and password. Windows Explorer then appears listing the directory contents, I do what I need to do, and then close down the window. However, if I select Start / Run and type in again \\servername\share, I’m not prompted to authenticate anymore. It’s as if the share is still connected.
So, without logging off or restarting, is there a way to disconnect the network share from Windows XP?
Yes, from a command prompt, type:
net use \\servername\share /delete